The human body is a fascinating network of energy centers, known as chakras, which play a significant role in our physical, mental, and spiritual well-being. In this blog post, we’ll delve into the second chakra, the Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana, exploring its connections to the element of water, its significance in the physical body, and the spiritual qualities it governs. Furthermore, we’ll discuss the Beej Mantra for the Sacral Chakra and offer tips on keeping this chakra healthy and balanced.

The Sacral Chakra: An Overview

The Sacral Chakra, also known as Svadhisthana in Sanskrit, translates to “one’s own dwelling place” or “sweetness.” Located just below the navel, this chakra is the center of creativity, passion, and emotional balance. The Sacral Chakra is associated with the color orange, symbolizing warmth, enthusiasm, and the spark of life.

The Element: Water

Water is the element associated with the Sacral Chakra, reflecting its fluid and adaptable nature. Just as water flows and adapts to its environment, the Chakra encourages us to embrace change and go with the flow of life. This element also signifies the importance of emotional well-being and our ability to express our emotions in a healthy manner.

The Physical Connection

The Sacral Chakra plays a crucial role in maintaining various aspects of our physical body, including the reproductive and urinary systems. It is responsible for the health of our sexual organs, bladder, kidneys, and lower back. Imbalances in the Chakra can manifest as sexual dysfunction, fertility issues, and urinary tract problems, among other physical symptoms.

The Spiritual Connection

The Sacral Chakra governs several key spiritual qualities, such as:

  1. Creativity: This Chakra is the source of our creative energy, nurturing our artistic expression and innovative thinking.
  2. Passion: This Chakra ignites our passions, desires, and zest for life, motivating us to pursue our dreams.
  3. Emotional Balance: This Chakra helps us understand and process our emotions, fostering emotional intelligence and stability.
  4. Sensuality: This energy center connects us to our physical senses, allowing us to fully experience the world around us and appreciate its beauty.

The Beej mantra for the Sacral Chakra

In Hindu tradition, mantras are powerful sound vibrations that can help balance and activate the chakras. The Beej Mantra for this Chakra is “VAM.” Chanting this sound vibration during meditation can help align and activate it, enhancing creativity, passion, and emotional balance.

Keeping the Sacral Chakra healthy

To maintain a healthy Svadhisthana Chakra, consider incorporating the following practices into your daily routine:

  1. Meditate: Regular meditation can help balance the Chakra, especially when focusing on the color orange or chanting the Beej Mantra “VAM.”
  2. Practice Yoga: Certain yoga poses, such as the pigeon pose, forward bend, and hip-opening stretches, can help release tension in the hips and lower back, promoting balance.
  3. Embrace Creativity: Engage in creative pursuits, such as painting, dancing, writing, or cooking, to stimulate the Chakra’s creative energy.
  4. Connect with Water: Spend time near bodies of water, take relaxing baths, or incorporate water-based imagery in your meditation to strengthen the Chakra’s connection to its elemental essence.


The Sacral Chakra is the source of creativity and passion. It represents our ability to be in touch with our emotions, as well as the ability to express ourselves through art or music. This Chakra also helps us feel connected to others and love ourselves unconditionally. You can read more about The Chakra System in this article or join one of our Kriya yoga courses to find out more.