Chakras are energy points in your body and located along the spinal cord. Each chakra influences a different part of your life, such as relationships, health or career. In Hinduism, there are seven main chakras and within those seven main chakras there are smaller ones called Nadis which are channels used by prana (life force) to circulate throughout our bodies. When these channels become blocked or imbalanced they can cause disease in our bodies and imbalance in our minds and emotions. There are several ways to keep your chakras healthy including diet, physical exercise, meditation and yoga.

The root chakra – Muladhara

The root chakra is the first chakra and is located at the base of the spine. It’s associated with our sense of belonging, security and relationships. When this chakra is blocked or imbalanced, it can result in feelings of anxiety and insecurity. The word muladhara is composed of two Sanskrit words – mula meaning “root” and adhara which means “base” or “support”.

The main role of this chakra is to provide support to others and create material stability. It helps us feel grounded and secure so we can thrive in the material world. If you have a strong root chakra, you’ll be able to deal with worldly issues without getting affected by the ups and downs of life.

The sacral chakra – Svadhisthana

The sacral chakra is associated with the element of water and located below the navel. It is associated with the reproductive organs and sexuality. When this chakra is blocked, a person may feel overwhelmed or out of control, leading to anxiety or depression. Depression can be caused by having too much energy in this chakra, which manifests as excessive emotional expression (crying, anger).

The sacral chakra also connects us to our sexuality; if it’s blocked you may find yourself feeling disconnected from your body or unable to constructively express yourself sexually. Sva means “Self” and adhishthana means “rule” or “dwelling place”.

The solar plexus – Manipura

The solar plexus chakra is associated with fire and is located above the navel. This chakra is related to your sense of self-esteem and personal power. The element of this chakra is fire, which rules digestion and metabolism. In addition to serving as a passage for cosmic energy, it supports our health by stimulating our digestive system, liver, gallbladder and spleen. Manipura, the Sanskrit word for the Solar Plexus chakra translates to “city of jewels” or “lustrous gem.”

The solar plexus chakra is associated with the element of fire, which means that it’s closely connected with digestion and metabolism. It also governs our interactions with other people—it’s where we learn how much power we should exert over others as well as when we can take on leadership roles ourselves (or not). If you feel like there are times when you want recognition for what you’ve done but nobody notices or cares about your efforts, then perhaps this could be due to an imbalance in this particular area!

The heart chakra – Anahata

The heart chakra is also known as Anahata chakra and is associated with air. The chakra is located in the centre of the chest. The focus of this chakra is love, which manifests itself as compassion. The heart chakra represents our emotional well-being and allows us to feel unconditional love for ourselves and others. When this chakra is balanced you will be able to feel empathy towards others, build positive relationships and communicate effectively. In Sanskrit, “anahata” means unhurt, unstruck and unbeaten.

The throat chakra – Vishuddha

The throat chakra is associated with ether, which is the element of sound and vibration. The colour associated with this energy centre is blue. It’s also known as the Vishuddha chakra, or “purest consciousness.”  Vishuddha, is the Sanskrit name for the throat chakra and means ‘pure’ or ‘purification. ‘

This chakra is located in the throat on either side of your trachea. It connects you to universal truth and divine knowledge that resides within you. This chakra gives you permission to express yourself honestly and authentically. As such, this chakra can be a source of calmness in the hustle and bustle of daily life.

The third eye – Ajna

The third eye chakra is associated with light, located between your eyebrows and is aligned with the pituitary gland. This chakra helps you to see clearly and be more intuitive. It’s also related to psychic abilities, insight and creativity.

The crown chakra – Sahasrara

The crown chakra encompasses thought, enlightenment, pure consciousness, spiritual connection to one’s higher self, universal energy, unity consciousness and pure awareness. Its colour is violet or white. The crown chakra encompasses thought, enlightenment, pure consciousness, spiritual connection to one’s higher self, universal energy, unity consciousness and pure awareness. It is multi coloured.

The crown chakra is the highest chakra and its function is to connect us to our higher self and beyond. It is at this location that we can experience enlightenment through deep meditation. When your crown chakra is open you will feel more connected to yourself and others around you as well as having a greater connection with the universe as a whole.

A summary on the chakras

The chakras are a series of seven energy centres that are responsible for connecting your mind and body. When these chakras are open, you will feel happier and more present in the world around you. If they get blocked, however, this can lead to feelings of anxiety or depression as well as physical ailments like headaches or stomach aches. Each chakra represents a different aspect of who you are and how you feel. It’s important to be aware of the state of your chakras so that they can help you lead a more balanced life.

When it comes down to figuring out what’s going on with your chakras, there are two different types of symptoms: physical and emotional. The former can be diagnosed by medical professionals while the latter is usually taken care of by therapists or spiritual teachers who specialise in working with people through meditation techniques such as Kriya Yoga or energy healing.